Community Stories are stories which can be edited by any user on GaySpiralStories. The idea is that the story is continually extended by various people, so it becomes a real community effort.
In the past the same goal has been achieved using an external “Wiki”. Now, it’s an integral part of GaySpiralStories.
The original author of a Community Story is its curator, he can review, edit and delete all changes made by any other user. It’s the responsibility of the story’s author to delete any inappropriate edit!
The site administration will also keep an eye on Community Stories and will delete any inappropriate or rule violating stuff, too.
Note: Even though it’s possible to add a Community Story without using an account, it’s not recommended to do so. Without an author owning the Community Story, there’s no person to curate it! The site administration will be very strict with moderating an anonymous Community Story!
How to create a Community Story
Just submit a new new story providing a starting setting, some characters and a basic idea of what the Community Story is supposed to be about. Make sure that you tick the “Community Edit” check button on the story submission page:
Note: You can also check this on already existing stories of yours by editing them!
Where to find the Community Stories
Community Stories are marked like this:
You can also find a list of all community stories in the menu under “Stories->Community Stories”
How to contribute to a Community Story
Just open the story and click the big “Edit” button of top.
After you clicked “Save and Review” on the bottom of the story, you’ll see a dialog where you should input the intention of your edit. Give a meaningful description there, to help the original author of the story to understand what your edit is about.
How can the original author curate his Community Story
When the original author of a Community Story opens it, he’ll get an extended edit menu:
With that menu, you can see each revision by clicking its number. To see the actual changes made in a revision, activate click the “eye” icon (called “Highlight changes”).
If you want to remove a revision, you can do so by selecting it and clicking the trashcan icon. Please note, that the revision will be deleted permanently, and all later edits, which might already have been added, are also going to be lost!
Check out this article about the revision system to get more details about this dialog!